Social media and writing, part 2

Dear authors,

I am not just interested in your latest book. Please interact with me and others on Twitter without always telling me that you have a latest release. Sometimes, yes, that’s fine. But don’t litter my feed with constant self-promotion.

Cheers,

Evelyn

Having been launched into the world of Twitter, and since my last post about creating an online platform for writers, this has been my number one pet peeve. In fact, it’s more a pet peeve because these people always seem to have tons of followers, while I tirelessly plug away at creating my ‘brand’ – ie personality representation online – and have not so many followers. (If you’re feeling so inclined… @EvelynRoseFict).

This seems backwards to me. I thought the whole point of having an online presence was to create interest not just in your work, but to engage with others in the industry, other people and generally interact. I don’t know anyone who enjoys blatant marketing like that. Do you?

The other reason this has annoyed me is because I’m verging on Twitter addiction. (See Obsessions). But this isn’t quite so bad as an obsession because it’s sociable. That’s what I keep telling myself and that’s the story I’m sticking to thankyoupleaseverymuch.

I am genuinely interested in other writers and what they have to say – even from a purely selfish point of view where I can see if my work really does have a market niche or is already being done by others. The research aspect of online communities is vital; but in doing my research I’d like to speak to more people who are interested in more than just self-promotion. Of course, I speak with exceptions here – there are some great, interactive and engaged writers and forums out there – but come on. How am I going to buy your book when all I know about it is how amazing you think it is?

And now, I realise I have turned full circle (technically 180 degrees but let’s skim over that, numbers aren’t my thing – I’m a writer, daahling). I’ve gone from not understanding the point of social media to realising why it is so important in this technology age: screen out the nutters and bad conversationalists (if you can’t hold an online conversation how have you written a good book?) and welcome in the engaged, intelligent, talented people who are there. Really, they are, I promise. You just have to dredge through the rubbish to find them…

3 thoughts on “Social media and writing, part 2

  1. dwwriter says:

    I found your blog entertaining, and I can relate to it. As I started to get to know twitter, I realized its not good for getting serious information from other authors. I do follow some writing prompt twitter feeds, those can be entertaining. And I follow quite a bit more. I’m beginning to think that I need two twitter accounts. One for ME and one for my “online presence”.

    • Thank you! Yes, I started out trying to make my Twitter account my ‘online presence’ but found I had to inject some of ‘me’ into it anyway in order to generate any interaction. Twitter is a really useful tool, but I think you have to be smart about using it. Otherwise you fall into the black hole of constantly refreshing your feed and not doing the work you’re supposed to be doing, just in case you miss something important… Well, I do anyway!

      • dwwriter says:

        I can relate to that as well. If I’m not smart about my time, I can spend hours on Twitter doing absolutely nothing, when I should have been writing, or doing homework, or cleaning the house…

Tell me your thoughts!

